

MASTER'S HOODING CEREMONY

Hendricks Chapel Saturday, May 11, 2024





Program

PRELUDE AND PROCESSIONAL

Variations on SOLID ROCK Asriel Davis G'23

Trumpet Tune in D Major David N. Johnson, Former University Organist

Anne Laver, Associate Professor and University Organist

WELCOME AND REMARKS

Michael S. Tick, Dean

STUDENT ADDRESS

Xinyue Tao G'24

HOODING CEREMONY

Michael S. Tick, Dean

Elisa Dekaney, Associate Dean, Research, Graduate Studies, and Internationalization

Martha Sutter, Interim Associate Dean, Academic Affairs

Robert Wysocki, Director, School of Art

Rachel Dubrofsky, Chair, Department of Communication and Rhetorical Studies

Jennifer DeLucia, Chair, Department of Creative Arts Therapy

Emily Stokes-Rees, Director, School of Design

David Tarleton, Chair, Department of Film and Media Arts

Milton Rubén Laufer, Director, Setnor School of Music

CLOSING REMARKS

Ebony Harriet Flag G'24

ALMA MATER

Syracuse University Alma Mater Junius W. Stevens, Class of 1895

RECESSIONAL

Joyful Canons Natalie Draper, Assistant Professor

Anne Laver, Associate Professor and University Organist

Please note that the names in this program are not an official listing of degree recipients. Students must be certified for their degrees after the posting of their final grades. Only those students who filed their diploma request by April 5, 2024 are included in this publication.

TENTATIVE LIST OF GRADUATES

SCHOOL OF ART

Jaleel Blanchard	Jared leClaire	Wenyi Qian	James Yert
Brianna Brescka	Zihan Lin	Ziwei Ren	Anika Zetterberg
Carolyn Crowley	Feiyang Liu	Zixiao Song	Yuhui Zheng
Markus Denil	Yuqing Liu	Angelica Starcovic	Jin Zhu
Atagun Ilhan	Linziyu Lu	Katherine Stone	Jianye Zou
Eric Jager	Xiaoyue Lu	Fan Tang	Robert Zumwalt
Fatemeh Kazemi	lessica McClanahan	Chenyu Wang	

Fatemeh Kazemi Jessica McClanahan Chenyu Wang Grace Kerr Andrea Osby Jinning Wang Emily Kofsky Grace Otten Kaicheng Yang

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION AND RHETORICAL STUDIES

Aevyn Barnett	Emily Iknayan	Xinyue Tao
Asajahnique Collins	Janae Kea	Maria Tsangarakis

Diana Durk Hannah Sparks

DEPARTMENT OF CREATIVE ARTS THERAPY

Frankie Bartolomie	Ebony Harriet Flag	Celena Moulton
Sara Bessette	Jessica McGhee	Julia Anne Mumpton

SCHOOL OF DESIGN

Zhiru Chen	Trinity Lowe	Katelyn Miller	Brandon Wallace
Abby Cullen	Hao Lu	Julia Neufeld	Xinran Wang
Jane Grimmer	Upneet Mair	Shivam Pawar	Jeremy Wollman
Rachael Hickman	Olivia McKnight	Morgan Satcowitz	Sean 7hai

DEPARTMENT OF FILM AND MEDIA ARTS

Meilin Luo

Sarah Aristy Camejo	David Garcia De Lira	Brady McDougall	Kathleen Warren
Samantha Bray	Tevvon Hines	Anshul Roy	Jasmine Whitmore
Greeshma Chenni	Oksana Kazmina	Stefanos Schultz	Ghazal Yousefi
Veettil	Lillian LaGrange	Zelikha Shoja	Haoran Zeng
Olivia Dovorany	Yushan Liu	Qianli Tian	

7e Tian

SETNOR SCHOOL OF MUSIC

Manya Gadhok

Christian Allemang	Samuel Evans	Ethan McAnally	Zachary Sova
Caroline Bergan	Isabel Hampton	Ryan Meredith	Chris Spinelli
Aidan Blaylock	Georgia Herrera	Japheth Niles	Alex Talarico
Jacob Bloom	Justin Hess	Joseph Ossei-Little	Benjamin Vermilyea
Miles Boone	Aleeya Jones	Allison Pasco	Katherine Weber
Paola Budani	James Kyle	Andrew Phan	Xinyi Zhang
Era Caushaj	Aidan LaBella	Matthew Schlicht	
Inelda Caushaj	Stephen Mack	Lauren Smith	

Awards

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION AND RHETORICAL STUDIES

J. CALVIN CALLAGHAN GRADUATE STUDENT ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

For second-year graduate students who are enrolled in preparing for future faculty programs

Xinyue Tao

DEPARTMENT OF CREATIVE ARTS THERAPY

VPA CREATIVE ARTS AWARD

For excellence in art therapy

Ebony Harriet Flag

SCHOOL OF DESIGN

M.F.A. DESIGN AWARD

Master's Prize

Sean Zhai

MUSEUM STUDIES AWARD

Master's Prize

Julia Neufeld Trinity Lowe

SETNOR SCHOOL OF MUSIC

ARTHUR POISTER PRIZE

To a student who majors in organ

Joseph Ossei-Little

EVALINA VERNON HONSINGER AND NORMA CHAPIN HONSINGER PRIZE

For excellent performance on the piano

Paola Budani

HIRA PONCHA ENDOWED AWARD

For an undergraduate or graduate pianist

Inelda Caushaj

MORTON SCHIFF JAZZ AWARD

For outstanding jazz musician students

Ryan Meredith

BRIAN ISRAEL AWARD

For an outstanding student composer

Ryan Meredith

MARION ARMSTRONG AWARD

For excellence in musical performance

Katherine Weber

CIVIC MORNING MUSICALS AWARD

For excellence in musical performance

Paola Budani

IRENE L. CROOKER MUSIC AWARD

For demonstrated excellence in music

Paola Budani

PATTI THOMPSON BUECHNER AWARD

For an outstanding vocal student

Katherine Weber

SIMEON POPOV MEMORIAL AWARD

For an outstanding orchestral musician

Aidan Blaylock Allison Pasco

ACADEMIC MUSIC AWARD

For outstanding work in a paper, lecture or research

Isabel Hampton

SETNOR PERFORMANCE AWARD FOR WINDS AND PERCUSSION

For demonstrated excellence in performance by an upperclass or graduate student

Benjamin Vermilyea

SETNOR PERFORMANCE AWARD FOR STRINGS

For demonstrated excellence in performance by an upperclass or graduate student

Jacob Bloom

SCHOOL OF MUSIC FACULTY AWARD

To a student who made the greatest contribution to the School of Music

Benjamin Vermilyea